Related Artists

Saves The Day

Motion City Soundtrack

Matchbook Romance


From First To Last

Less Than Jake

The Lawrence Arms

Say Anything


Brand New

Alkaline Trio Biography

Home > Music > A > Alkaline Trio > Biography

Birth Place: McHenry, Illinois, United States
Years Active: 1996-present
Genres: Punk Rock, Pop Punk, Alternative Rock

Alkaline Trio is an American punk rock band that formed in McHenry, Illinois, in 1996. Alkaline Trio formed in 1996 with an initial lineup of Matt Skiba (guitar, vocals), Rob Doran (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Glenn Porter (drums).

This lineup released the band's demo tape and the 1997 single “Sundials” on Chicago record label Johann's Face Records, after which Doran left the band and was replaced by Dan Andriano. The group then signed to Asian Man Records and released their debut EP, “For Your Lungs Only” and album “Goddamnit” in 1998.

A second EP, “I Lied My Face Off,” followed in 1999. In 2000 Asian Man released the band's second album, “Maybe I'll Catch Fire,” as well as the compilation album “Alkaline Trio,” collecting most of their previously released early material. Porter then left and was replaced by Mike Felumlee.

The band next moved to Vagrant Records, releasing “From Here to Infirmary” in 2001. It was their first album to enter the Billboard charts, reaching #199 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #9 on the Independent Albums chart. Its two singles, “Stupid Kid” and “Private Eye,” both charted on the U.K. Singles chart.

Felumlee then left and Derek Grant became the band's new permanent drummer. A split EP with Hot Water Music was released in 2002 through Jade Tree. The band's fourth album, “Good Mourning,” was released in 2003 on Vagrant, reaching #1 on Billboard's Independent Albums chart and #20 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. “We've Had Enough” and “All on Black” were released as singles from this album, the former becoming the band's first song to chart in the United States.

Alkaline Trio's fifth album, “Crimson,” was released in 2005 through Vagrant. It did not fare as well on the charts as “Good Mourning,” though its three singles, “Time to Waste,” “Mercy Me” and “Burn,” became the band's highest-charting singles in the U.K.

In 2007 Vagrant released “Remains,” a compilation album of B-sides, compilation and EP tracks and live material. Alkaline Trio then moved to the major label Epic Records for 2008's “Agony & Irony,” which charted higher on the Billboard charts than any of their previous releases. It also spawned their highest-charting single in “Help Me,” which reached #14 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart.

A seventh studio album, titled “This Addiction,” was released in February 2010 through the band's newly-formed label Heart & Skull, in partnership with Epitaph Records. It became the highest-charting album of their career, reaching #11 on the Billboard 200 and #1 on the Rock, Independent, and Alternative Albums charts.

“Damnesia,” the band’s eighth studio album, was released in 2011 on Heart & Skull. A mostly acoustic album, it featured new takes on tracks from throughout the band’s history. The album also included two new songs, “Olde English 800” and “I Remember a Rooftop,” as well as a cover version of the Violent Femmes' “Held Her in My Arms.”