Related Artists

Black Star


Jurassic 5

Mos Def


Jack Johnson

Talib Kweli

Big L

The Roots


Aesop Rock Biography

Home > Music > A > Aesop Rock > Biography

Birth Name: Ian Matthias Bavitz
Born: 1976/06/05
Birth Place: Northport, New York, United States
Years Active: 1997 – present
Genres: Hip Hop

Aesop Rock (born Ian Matthias Bavitz, June 5, 1976) is an American hip hop artist and producer. He was at the forefront of the new wave of underground and alternative hip hop acts that emerged during the late 1990s and early 2000s. He is a member of the groups The Weathermen, Hail Mary Mallon (with Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz), and Two Of Every Animal (with Cage).

He initially recorded and released two self-financed records, “Music for Earthworms” in 1997 and the “Appleseed” EP in 1999. After being signed to the Mush label, Aesop Rock released his first major album, “Float” in 2000.

Shortly thereafter, Aesop Rock signed to Manhattan-based hip hop label Definitive Jux, where he has since released “Labor Days” in 2001, “Bazooka Tooth” in 2003, and “None Shall Pass” in 2007.